🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Is this company legit?
Page options
0dfb110e
Community Member

Is this company legit?

Hello. I am brand new to Upwork and was just interviewed for a project via Skype text. I haven't spoken to a live person or received a scope of work. I'm being asked to sign a contract. The company joined Upwork a month ago. Everything is moving very fast, from the interview to the request to sign a contract. 

Does Upwork verify companies who join? Is it OK to end a project early if the work is problematic for some reason? I am being asked to sign a contract before I see a scope of work. 

Thanks,

Angela

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wescowley
Community Member

Angela, from everything you've described here, this is almost certainly a scam.

1) As others have said, talking to clients outside of Upwork's messenger isn't allowed before you have a contract through Upwork. Some clients just don't know this and need to have it pointed out to them, but very often having a client ask you to interview through Skype or Telegram or anything else outside of Upwork is a prelude to a scam.

2) On Upwork, a contract is done through an offer you'll see in the Upwork chat and on your proposals screen. Until you see that offer and accept it, you don't have an Upwork contract. I'm coming up on three years here and I've never had a legitimate client ask me to sign a different contract. If an Upwork client tries to get you to do work without an Upwork contract, you're probably not going to be paid for it.

Edited to add: here are some things you should read to get started:

- Stickied thread in New to Upwork forum: https://community.Upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/Getting-Started-on-Upwork/m-p/264214#M2460
- Long thread on recognizing scams: https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/Tips-to-Avoid-Questionable-Jobs/m-p/240833#M25
- New post on recognizing scams: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/From-the-Trust-and-Safety-Team-How-to-Spot-a-Scam/ba-...