🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » New to Upwork
Page options
008f3e54
Community Member

New to Upwork

Hello everyone,

I have been freelancing as an accountant for roughly 4years now, though Upwork is my first online platform.I am a CPA and a Degree in Finance holder. I have been applying for numerous projects, but I am not getting any feedback. I needed to understand what the problem is. May it be my geographical location? That's why I am not being considered?

I have 6 years experience on bookkeeping and accounting as well. Does it mean I need to charge below $10 per hour for me to get a project?Or should I go for the entry positions?

Please help me out.

Mercy.
8 REPLIES 8
ijlalzaidi786
Community Member

Hi Mercy,

As you are new to the platform you should apply as an entry-level and at a low charge rate.

Regards,

Ijlal

Hi Ijlal,

I tried an entry level, like a junior accountant or something, one of the
replies I got was that the job is for new beginners in the field. Where do
I belong now?

Mercy K wrote:
Hi Ijlal,

I tried an entry level, like a junior accountant or something, one of the
replies I got was that the job is for new beginners in the field. Where do
I belong now?

You are the professional. You should know what you can do and what you want to charge for it. Stick to what you do best. 

Ijlal Z wrote:

Hi Mercy,

As you are new to the platform you should apply as an entry-level and at a low charge rate.

Regards,

Ijlal

Again, really bad advice.

martina_plaschka
Community Member

Mercy K wrote:
Hello everyone,

I have been freelancing as an accountant for roughly 4years now, though Upwork is my first online platform.I am a CPA and a Degree in Finance holder. I have been applying for numerous projects, but I am not getting any feedback. I needed to understand what the problem is. May it be my geographical location? That's why I am not being considered?