🐈
» Forums » Support » I got chargeback request
Page options
510ed95d
Community Member

I got chargeback request

Hello everyone,

I am extremely disappointed in Upwork. I have been using the platform for approximately 7-9 months, and I have completed solid work for most of my clients. I am a Python developer, specializing in web scraping. Recently, I worked with a client named **Edited for Community Guidelines**from Israel. He offered me a $20.00/hour contract for a project, which I accepted. I worked for 9 hours and 40 minutes, but due to a delay, I told him I wouldn't record the rest of the hours. I informed him of the delay and my unavailability to work during that period. Despite the project being challenging, I managed to complete the web scraping based on his requirements.

I messaged him multiple times after sharing the data file, but he didn't respond. I then asked if I should end the contract, but he still didn't reply. After three days, I ended the contract. However, 12 days later, I received a chargeback notification, and the client was refunded the balance of $193.33.

Where can I find freelancer protection on Upwork? Upwork keeps a record of my work by taking screenshots and still without my knowledge, they refunded the money. That's amazing.

Creating a client account, verifying payment, posting a job, completing the task and then asking for a refund is an unethical tactic on Upwork. Win-win.

After receiving the email, I replied to Upwork, but nobody responded to my case. I am frustrated with Upwork. I am sad because $198 is not a joke to me.

I received another chargeback during my first days on Upwork. The client requested a refund two months after the project was completed, and the chargeback was successful. However, no action was taken against the client's account.

Thanks upwork.

Job still open -**Edited for Community Guidelines**

2 REPLIES 2
LuiggiR

Hi Sujit,