🐈
» Forums » Support » Re: Job not as described and not comfortable ...
Page options
b364fc26
Community Member

Job not as described and not comfortable with what is asked.

Hello,

I'm new to Upwork and just sent a Proposal for a "Simple task for Netherlands resident" job (Screenshot Job). The description is a little vague, but I understood that they want you to download an app and verify if it is working, I also expected to give a little feedback on it. But when this client approached me, he said that they are looking to hire a Virtual Assistant from the Netherlands and all I have to do is download the app and verify my ID.

When I asked what he means by verifying my ID, he sends me a screenshot of somebody elses passport, which for me is something I cannot comprehend, as I'm super carefull with other people's personal information/documentation (I'm a secretary and GDPR is something I take very serious). This also tells me that he would do the same with MY personal information, so I'm wondering if the client is violating the GDPR by sending this passport screenshot to me.

It is safe to say I don't feel comfortable doing this assignment, but when I withdraw my proposal it affects my Upwork Profile.

(which in some situations I can understand, but in this case I think it shouldn't).

Is there something I can do so that I don't do the job and it doesn't affect my Upwork Profile?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Kind Regards,

Cindy

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PradeepH

Hi Cindy,