🐈
» Forums » Support » SPAM ALERT
Page options
lightofearth
Community Member

SPAM ALERT

Hi,

I am becoming frustrated with getting three consecutive invitation messages to add a telegram number to continue the job. As I know, according to Upwork policy, contact with the outside is prohibited, and I want to follow the platform policy. However, as a new freelancer, I have lost my time, hope, and connects ($) because of this type of spam. I think it is high time for the Upwork team to strictly prohibited to type a particular word like "telegram" in message before order confirmation as well as a guide to the buyer on what to do and what not to do on this platform.

Thanks for reading this thread.

Regards,
Kamrul Hasan Noor

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
krishujoshi4077
Community Member

I understand your frustration with receiving spam invitations, Kamrul. It is indeed against Upwork's Terms of Service for clients to ask freelancers to communicate outside of the Upwork platform before a contract is in place. You're doing the right thing by wanting to adhere to the platform's policies.

You may want to consider these steps:

• Report the Spam: Use the "Flag as inappropriate" link on the message or job posting to report it to Upwork. This alerts the Upwork team to the potential violation so they can review and take appropriate action.

• Educate the Client: If you feel comfortable doing so, you could politely inform the client that Upwork's policy requires all communications to stay on the platform until a contract is established.

• Customer Feedback: As you suggested, a more robust filter for certain keywords like "telegram" could help Upwork better identify potential spam or policy violations. While I don't have the means to implement such features, providing this feedback directly to Upwork could help them improve the platform. You could contribute to the Community forums or through customer support.