🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » 12-page manuscript turned into a biography?
Page options
50862ed4
Community Member

12-page manuscript turned into a biography?

Hi everyone!

I’m the dog that caught the mail truck, and I’d like some advice.

I’m in the interview stage with a client who has her grandfather’s diary, and she’s interested in expanding it into a larger biography or historical fiction. Pay is $50/hr. The diary is 12 pages, double-spaced.

She’s new. I’m new.

I’m far from new to writing, but I am new to freelancing, and I’m seeing red (yellow?) flags. The work, inherently, will require research into the era (1850-1900). The inherent nature of research is that not every word is progress. You can read for 3 hours and end up with three relevant points that make it in the final draft. I’m worried she doesn’t realize this, and wondering if I should propose milestones instead?

And, finally, for those of you who’ve done similar work: is this even possible? I’m not sure, no matter how detailed I get, if 12 double-spaced pages can be expanded into anything longer than a short story or novella.

Or, does this all sound fairly typical and I’m just having pre-plunge jitters?

Thanks in advance, everyone!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
colettelewis
Community Member

I suppose it really depends on how deep your client's pockets are. 

I think you are right in thinking milestones and an estimated fixed-price for the whole work might be the better option.  However, anyone who has done this sort of research knows how long it takes to come up with a logical sequence of events to be applied to either a biography or piece of fiction (and how expensive this can be). 

A twelve-page diary is not very long. So I suppose the best thing would be to use the information in those pages as your starting point, and to go back and forward from there.