🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Proving yourself a good writer when you are n...
Page options
rizwan-ts
Community Member

Proving yourself a good writer when you are not a Native English Speaker

Hello all,

This is Rizwan and I am a new writer on Upwork.
Describing yourself as a good writer has always been a challenge to anyone: an opinion. Especially when it comes to the point where you have to compete among the Native speakers of the language. I am trying very hard but buyers don't really trust us (us: not native English speakers). What do the great Upwork community will suggest to me on this and how should be my strategy.

Hope to have great and helpful answers from you all.

Thank you!   

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
colettelewis
Community Member

Rizwan M wrote:

Hello all,

Describing yourself as a good writer has always been a challenge to anyone: an opinion. Especially when it comes to the point where you have to compete among the Native speakers of the language. I am trying very hard but buyers don't really trust us (us: not native English speakers). What do the great Upwork community will suggest to me on this and how should be my strategy.

Thank you!   

It's not easy even for native English writers Rizwan, but it is not impossible either. 

If you want writing work on Upwork, then my advice is to find yourself a niche, and this is more likely to be in one (or some) of the  categories you have mentioned in your profile, where it is not always essential to have perfect grammar. Also, for the moment, stay with your local market.

My personal opinion, judging from your profile, is that you need more practice and it might be a good idea to get a recognized certificate of competence in English, which you could add to your profile.

Be careful when you apply for writing jobs on Upwork. Never over-promise, as this could lead to bad reviews and not getting future writing work.