🐈
» Forums » Clients » Freelancer breach of guidelines
Page options
71e147c7
Community Member

Freelancer breach of guidelines

I’m relatively new to upwork, in the sense that I repeatedly attempted to hire people that often agreed to start the work, then disappeared when asked further questions about their experience. I was so happy to find a freelancer who clearly understood my request and had a professional website with recommendations, etc. I was anxious to get started and after seeing such an extremely low priced hourly rate I signed a “standard” confidentiality and long term contract agreement. This is where the problems began as the freelancer disappeared for weeks, after a few requests for response I was assured that a team of people were working very hard on my account and that they are busy with many accounts.  Fast forward, months have passed. I wrote the freelancer this is not the kind of working relationship I want and want to end the contract and I’m told that the contract I signed is unbreakable and I must pay the full amount without receiving any of the work. And now I am constantly being harassed for payment. When I looked for ways to report this scam, I see now that this relationship was in breach of your standards, but I am willing to pay the penalty to stop others from being fooled! see contract attached  ( P.s. Where is support desk contact info? )

**Edited for community guidelines**

12 REPLIES 12
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

I'm sorry about your experience with this freelancer, Odiva.

Our team will reach out to you directly to assist you with this report and advise on further steps.

Thank you.

~ Bojan
Upwork
71e147c7
Community Member

Please do, I've been seaching for a long time to find a way to contact Upworks support. Just to be clear, This freelancer is using upwork to collect clients for jobs and payment outside of upworks.  See contract  I uploaded February 19.

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager