cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Phone Calls are Answered- What do I need to do in advance?

Paige M Member Since: Jan 5, 2015
1 of 8

Hello All,

I am new to Odesk and not getting much help at all from Customer service, so I thought I would try this forum. What I am looking to do is have someone answer general phone calls for me but the caveat is I would like to use the existing business number which I've had for years. Can someone help me understand if this is possible and if so, what do I need to do in advance of posting a job in order that we are propertly prepared? So, for example, is it possible if I hire someone across the country to answer phone calls from our existing phone number? I imagine there is some sort of forwarding that can be done, but again, no one in customer service knew how to direct me.

Thank you in advance,

Paige

Community Guru
Stephen B Member Since: Dec 4, 2012
2 of 8

With respect, you're asking customer service for advice not on how to make the website work for you, but about the logistics of the actual job you want to create. Why should customer service help you with how someone can answer your phones for you? Would I expect them to help me with the best version of Word to use for my copy-editing and proofing service? Would a graphics artist ask them which file format it's best to save in, and how many vector layers to use (I just made that one up, so I hope it sounds real..)?

By all means ask here on the forum, but please don't expect customer service to advise you.

(and be assured I'm no poster boy for customer service on here - quite the opposite - I just know they don't seem to be able to handle things to do with actually running the site properly, and I haven't been shy about saying it).

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 8

Paige, I agree with what Stephen says here... that "Customer Support" is not the right place to ask that type of question.