🐈
» Forums » Clients » If a freelancer fails to deliver
Page options
1c5288a4
Community Member

If a freelancer fails to deliver

Hi,

Hope you are all well! 

I'm new to Upwork and have a few questions.

If I hire a freelancer who fails to deliver the job spec I'm asking for, how does payment work?

Do I still have to pay the agreed amount or can I give a partial payment? Or no payment?

I assume they'll be given a chance to revise the work too?

So far, I've come across this page with a similar question from last year: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Clients/do-I-have-to-pay-for-my-project-if-I-don-t-like-the-result/m...

If there is an Upwork article/page that gives more info on this I'd appreciate a link to it or any help you can provide.

Thank you.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
yofazza
Community Member

No need a last year thread for that, the talks goes almost everyday. Here are the latest I remembered:

The main idea is, you should monitor the work. You use hourly work, or small fixed-price milestones. Profiles are okay but don't look at them and trust someone. Profiles are manipulatable, freelancers can even legally remove a bad feedback. As I mentioned in the other thread, the fact is you can find rants about bad freelancers with sparkling profiles in this exact forum.

Do I still have to pay the agreed amount

Mostly yes

or can I give a partial payment?

Mostly no..

Or no payment?

Mostly no.

By "mostly", I mean you will most likely need to go through dispute where it's not easy to get those money back. What (Upwork) do in a dispute is to hold the money and let you and the freelancer find a solution. They don't judge or look at quality of the work.

Yes but not necessarily a good option if the freelancer is bad isn't it?

You should have better insights about these things here, rather than the documentation.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
6bfcdaf8
Community Member

Hi Yusuf, welcome to upwork!