Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

And this is another reason why i'm moving from upwork

Ace Contributor
Natanael R Member Since: Jun 22, 2015
1 of 90

Hi:

FIrst of all i want to thanks Ryan from upwork for his time, i know it is not your fault and you are just following guides from upwork.

No, this is not another rant about the last year upwork fees increase. I have been working with upwork since 2011 coming from another freelancer sites and i  felt more confortable with the upwork UI and support  team than with other sites so i decided to make it my only "search engine" for jobs. The support was great, the charges were fair and the most important thing is that they cared about freelancers.

Starting 2017 i started to reduce my work in upwork because i did not agree with the last upwork fees changes because  i'm from Europe living in a special VAT status area( Canary islands https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/business/other-taxes/turnover-taxes-canary-islands_en ) where we don't have VAT number but IGIC and by law can't be charged by VAT. Upwork did not agree with me so i filled a complain to the european commission and closes my argue with upwork since they maybe didn't have enough experience in that field or thought i was trying to bypass the VAT fees.

I have a 5 stars profile, i sent a hundred documents to verify my account long time ago, i'm a freelancer plus member,  dev team group member, never had a single client complain,etc so i think my profile is at least reliable.

Suddenly today my account was "in hold" and they required me to verify my profile with a video call because:

"We occasionally ask Upwork users to take this step as part of our efforts to ensure our site continues to be a secure place for freelancers and clients to connect and collaborate." .

I'm happy when upwork tries to make his site secure but i think the process is a mess:

1-  I was not able to send any proposal until verified.