🐈
» Forums » Coffee Break » How do you keep your spirits up?
Page options
5af7585c
Community Member

How do you keep your spirits up?

Hi everyone!

I'm not new to freelancing but I am very new to Upwork (been hoping to get more jobs so I can pay for further studies!)... I've not been able to successfully bid on jobs so far but am trying to be positive and push on. How do you guys get through tough days? 

I grab myself a huge mug of tea, some chips and read/watch The Lord of the Rings 🙂

5 REPLIES 5
luqman_mak
Community Member

Hello,
Getting started on Upwork is quite tough, what sort of worked for me is i started looking at jobs that seemed to be from clients that are new to the platform, they have their payments as unverfied* and sometimes have just abit too little or too much of a job description - they only cost 2 connects to apply to and are mostly shunned by everyone else.
Once you get that first job, you try to do it right to get that first good review and from there...you spend connects wisely..its kind of a monopoly game where you sit and wait while thinking of your next move. 
Hopefully when you do get your first few hundreds, thats when the invites start kicking in.

*Make sure that the payment is verified and the milestones are funded before starting any work on Upwork (for any new people out there - please read the payment protection things and understand them 

Thats for Upwork. As for breaking from routine, there is nothing more satifying than watching slo-mo videos and how things are made or destroyed..be it in Mordor or anywhere else.

I don't think that's the worst answer in the world Luqman, but there are a few red flags in there, summed up in general as advising someone to aim for the riskier jobs to get started.