Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Working as a freelancer and as a client

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Daniel S Member Since: Apr 2, 2014
1 of 8

I'm sure many of you had the opportunity to work both as a freelancer and as a client (hired by another client at least). It all changes when you have a taste of both worlds, doesn't it?

As a freelancer I've learned that good communication is valued as much as delivering quality work. This was not something new, but it became more obvious.

As a client I've learned that upWork has a lot of posers who have no idea of what they are doing, but decided on a bowel movement moment to try the freelancing life. No skills, no common sense but eager to say "i is comfidential than i can tu da bi da best and you hire me now for $1000". I'm not kidding, there are a lot of them here. Also, this made me realize that I am one of the good freelancers Smiley Happy

Now, the question: for those of you in this position, how well do you separate the sides? When I'm hiring, I always think "what if this would be me 4 years ago and someone decided to give me a chance?". It quickly passes when I take a look at the samples provided, but still, sometimes I do the mistake of hiring the wrong persons.

Highlighted
Community Leader
Gabriel B Member Since: Nov 25, 2014
2 of 8

Uhm, I always used perfect English even when talking to some girl in Canada in 2000 during the 9th grade summer vacation. Well, even more so since girls are so precious.

So, no. Good professionals never say "i can tu da bi da best". Language is the first element required to do anything. And everything's in English.

From another perspective, going freelance means you already worked. You can't offer services without having the experience and confidence you are doing the job correctly. And this is an internation platform that explicitly requires English.

So, again, no.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Daniel S Member Since: Apr 2, 2014
3 of 8