🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Accidentally closed contract
Page options
graphics_partner
Community Member

Accidentally closed contract

Hey guys!

I'm still learning things on upwork as I've just started working on projects here. Recently I worked on a fixed price project (20 USD). The fund was in escrow & I submitted the work in regular way. The client kept asking for correction & I provided accordingly. But he was really unsettling with his design decisions & never satisfied. But I spent almost 48 hours with his project.

At last, he said he's satisfied & was gonna close the contract but he didn't. He kept me hanging & didn't reply my messages even though he was online. Moreover, he posted the same project again with the image I've delivered to him!! Seeing this, I closed the contract myself hoping the payment will come to my account. But now I can see the payment hasn't come to my way.

Is there anything I can do to get the payment back?

Thanks in advance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

We can't expect modesty from this type of clients, can we?

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Is there anything I can do to get the payment back?"

No.

This is over.

You will not get paid the $20 you had hoped for.

And that's OKAY!

You are new. You made a lot of mistakes. That is part of learning new things.

But the knowledge you gained is worth far more than $20.

One thing you learned is that when YOU (as a freelancer) close a fixed-price contract, all money in escrow is returned automatically to the client.

But you learned a more important lesson:

Some clients don't understand or respect the fixed-price contract model.

You worked 48 hours to try to earn $20.

That works out to about 42 cents per hour.

Clearly you were using the Upwork platform incorrectly.

In the future, do this:
Don't accept fixed-price contracts. Until you actually know how to use fixed-price contracts properly, only work using hourly contracts.