🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Advice on how to set up a contract for a paid...
Page options
melroen
Community Member

Advice on how to set up a contract for a paid brainstorming session about client's project?

Hi,

I want to ask for advice from experienced freelancers here on the forum.

I'm new to the platform with only three jobs so far and no JSS score yet and not allowed to create a consultation catalog project until  I have a rising talent badge. 

I am a writer specializing in screenwriting, film, and tv treatment pitches, and story development. I  have an interview Tuesday with a potential new client who needs story development for his fiction project. He is not a writer and needs someone to do his based on his concept.

However, he wants to do a brainstorming session as the first step followed by a contract to develop a plot/ story outline as he puts it to "bounce ideas off each other" to see if his project is viable. In other words, pick my brains for free lol. I don't work without a contract ever.

I have suggested during our message exchanges to set up a contract for an hourly paid consultation. Having already experienced project scope creep in my last fixed-price contract, I want to be fairly paid for my expertise and time. Is it possible to use the work diary time tracker for a consultation-type scenario as the first contract? If all goes well with our initial contract, my suggestion would be to set up an hourly contract for the story development outline.

For a complex project, with a client who has "ideas" but no significant source material to work from, or real understanding of how time-consuming and meticulous story development is. I want to avoid falling into the trap of a fixed-price contract's project scope creep.

Any concrete suggestions would be appreciated. 

Thank you!

Melissa

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
sajal36
Community Member

Yes. Going hourly in such scenario is always correct as you will be under hourly payment protection.