🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client asks for so much and pays so little
Page options
Olta Q Community Member

Client asks for so much and pays so little

Hi all,

I want to share my experience with the first client and since I am new to Upwork, I need some help.

In my profile it says that I charge 5$ for an hour which I believe is a very reasonable price. When the first client wrote to me, he said that my portfolio wasn't good enough and wasn't convinced yet so he is willing to pay the same amount of money, only with a fixed price. My other clients were very satisfied with my portfolio and I know that taste plays a big role but it felt as if he was trying to get out of paying more. He said that he will give me different challenges and he will double pay for each one. I worked so hard for two days to get paid for only one hour of work. He wasn't satisfied even if I did a good job. He was constantly rushing me from the beginning, asking to see results and he would say 'send it to me now or never'. When finally satisfied, he gave me a few more projects every other day, still for the same amount of money. I work very hard until I achieve what he asks for but afterward he says 'I will go with the old version because it looks better'.

My other clients are very happy with what I do for them. I always reach their expectations and work very well on deadlines. The first client is dreading me and I can't continue working so hard and so long for such a little amount of money. He always makes me feel bad about any work I accomplish and I want to end the contract now because it seems like I'm being used.

How should I end the contract if we're working with a fixed price? Is it okay to not work on the next challenge and instead tell him that I want to end the contract?

Thank you for your time!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Preston H Community Member

re: "Client asks for so much and pays so little"