🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client is asking for passport copy for NDA
Page options
b5375551
Community Member

Client is asking for passport copy for NDA

Hy, Good day! Recently I applied for a 2D animation Job post and got hired. before interviewing, the client asked if I was willing to sign an NDA for that I was required to provide my Email, Contact number, and a copy of my original passport. Initially, I said I agreed with the terms as signing an NDA is not something new for me. Now I'm feeling insecure as I'm suggested by a few fellow Upwork freelancers not to provide a copy of my passport. And the most important this is that I do not have the passport yet. 

Adding to my concerns, the client has no spending history on Upwork and joined the platform very recently, on March 6. They also remained anonymous during our Zoom meeting. As a Top-rated freelancer, I'm worried about negatively impacting my Job Success Score (JSS).

Could you advise on how I should handle this situation?

Best regards,

Asim Raza

5 REPLIES 5
spectralua
Community Member

Reject. Never share your private info. Upwork already verified you and have all required.

I accepted the offer and the client asked for a Passport copy just after I accepted the offer. What if he ends the contract, leaves a bad review, and hurts my JSS?

Yes.

But you can explain that you worried with ID sharing and wont do it for security reasons. You able to provide that but not must. Client cannot force you.

In any case bad feedback is nothing vs negative affect of your ID sharing with criminals.

3644d580
Community Member

Hello Asim,

Given the circumstances, it's best to:

1. Politely explain you don't have a passport yet.
  2. Offer alternative methods for identity verification.
  3. Prioritize safety and caution.
  4. Trust your instincts and proceed accordingly.

Best regards,

Haris Ismail

crart
Community Member