🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client legal threats made me refund
Page options
5d322382
Community Member

Client legal threats made me refund

Hello,
I am relatively new to Upwork, but I just "finished" my first job with a client. Throughout the contract, I primarily communicated with this client via Skype. I was working on a prototype demo website for this client and was paid each week in milestones for about 2 months. I let the client know that I would be needing to end the contract two weeks ahead of time for personal reasons. I had developed a functioning website which I was running locally but had not deployed anything yet. The client was under the impression that I would have a functioning website deployed for them at a certain date and I had originally agreed to this. However, I failed to deliver on that outcome before I left but was able to pass off my code to the next developer they hired. For this reason I offered to refund them the last two milestones for the last two weeks that I worked. The client then insisted that I refund the entire amount of money they had paid me in milestones over two months. I explained to the client that they had 14 days review period for each past milestone and that they had already approved of each one and the demo videos and deliverables that I had submitted. However, the client then proceeded to threaten to take legal action against me for "misrepresentation" since I agreed to certain deadlines and deliverables but was unable to deliver in the end. I was tired of being harassed by the client, so I just decided to refund all of the milestones from the two months I worked just to get them off my back. Once I did that, the threats from the client stopped and they even left me a five star review. However, I feel like I got hustled by the client, having put in about 70-80 hours of solid work over the past two months.