cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Country of residence for Digital Nomads

pdukatz
Ace Contributor

Upwork has changed their fees for Europeans, adding VAT now. 

When I signed up, I was a resident of Germany. In the meantime, I transitioned into being a Digital Nomad. I unregistered in Germany and I am now a so called perpetual traveler, switching location every three months.

Two things:

1. How am I even supposed to switch my location here if I can't really prove it with an updated ID or something like that?

2. I don't see why I should pay VAT if I am not even an EU-resident anymore. 

I strongly urge Upwork to give advice as they always seemed to promote the Digital Nomad development and now they seem to make it so much harder. Please advise immediately.

Philipp

61 REPLIES 61
jmeyn
Community Guru

@Petra R wrote:

YES! Such as "They pay their taxes!"

Petra, probably a very absurd idea not only for many Digital Nomads but also for many multi-national corporations. Some hording billions outside the US and not willing to bring them into the US because then they would have to pay taxes on their earnings. Taxes they avoided or minimized in other countries already. I don't even think it strange that this are the same corporations that let people work under conditions that are close to slavery.

marciamalory
Community Guru
Being "legally allowed to be in a country" is not a one size fits all situation. You can be legally allowed to be in a country as a tourist, for a short amount of time, to work, temporarily, on a particular job or project, to work, temporarily, for a company that has international offices, as a permanent resident, after fulfilling various residency, tax and other requirements, or as a naturalised citizen.All of these have different rules and obligations.
marciamalory
Community Guru