🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Downloading apps
Page options
9861d067
Community Member

Downloading apps

Hi!

My name is Pamela and I am very new to Upwork, but I think I'm going to enjoy if I can ever figure out who's scamming and who's not!

I am being asked to download Viber, Telegram, etc., and it's truly a headache with so many scammers.  I applied to two jobs already and both were scams.  I am really out here trying to work for myself and when this happens, it's disappointing.

Please advise.

Thank you,

Pamela

7 REPLIES 7
AndreaG

Hi Pamela,

I'm sorry to hear you've encountered this kind of activity in the marketplace. Please know that you can always flag these job posts as inappropriate. Every report is sent directly to our Trust and Safety team for investigation.

For more information about working safely through Upwork, please read these tips for avoiding questionable jobs.

I hope this helps, and good luck!

~Andrea
Upwork
researchediting
Community Member

Pamela B wrote:

... I am very new to Upwork, but I think I'm going to enjoy if I can ever figure out who's scamming and who's not!

I am being asked to download Viber, Telegram, etc., and it's truly a headache with so many scammers.  I applied to two jobs already and both were scams.  I am really out here trying to work for myself and when this happens, it's disappointing.

Downloading any app (presumably for the purpose of communicating with a prospective client and/or managing your work) prior to having a contract is a likely violation of Terms of Service, and could get your account banned.

Upwork, with a certain amount of limitations and friction, provides the tools necessary to manage our contracts and our pre-contract communications.

As freelancing professionals, we own the tools we need to do the work we seek, or are prepared to invest in them.

Any other ask, demand, or expectation from a prospective client to download or use their specific software or site is a big red flag.