cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ending dormant contracts

Community Guru
Ela K Member Since: Feb 9, 2015
1 of 4

I have a client I did a fixed-price contract for. After I delivered my work and was paid I expected the client to close the job. Which didn't happen. I asked them whether they wanted to keep it alive for future work. No response.

I am still rather new to oDesk and I am still building my profile. So feedback is greatly appreciated. I don't necessarily want a dormant fixed-price contract with a non-responsive client.

Please, don't advise me to wait for at least 5-10 weeks before ending the contract. I am not sure I want to work with that client again. There has to be another way than me being terrified of ending a contract - although I fulfilled it. And the client was happy also.

Thanks.

Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
2 of 4

I would also like a reply to this. I have had one dormant client for years. But now with all the new rules, I am not sure what to do about the client.

Community Guru
Stephen B Member Since: Dec 4, 2012
3 of 4

I have let these kind of ones build up over the years and it becomes more of a problem if you let it go, so it is better dealt with early on. I'll tell you what I do. Some say you shouldn't close contracts yourself as it affects the dark scores ... but no one can be sure about that - all I know is I haven't been affected yet.

So, I have a list of old dormant contracts. Every now and then I message one of them asking if they're still around, and would they mind closing up and giving mutual feedback? and that it doesn't mean they're not welcome to seek me out again if they need my sevices.

I state clearly and concisely that if I haven't heard from them in two weeks, I'll assume they've left the site and I'll close the contract myself. This bit is important for the future as a "papertrail" showing that you tried to contact the client.