🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Equipment Payment
Page options
danitamoon
Community Member

Equipment Payment

Hi--

I'm new to Upworks and accepted two short-term projects. I've received an employment letter from both. I was initially contacted on Upworks then the interview moved to Skype chat with the interview questions etc. They both sent a scanned copy of a check for equipment that I'd need to purchase for the job. I did a mobile deposit for one as they said they'd arrange to have the paper check sent to me. They had me make a couple of payments to their vendors and then my bank froze my account. The representative is now not responding to my messages. I asked if the job would be done through UpWorks as I was unsure and she said yes. How should I proceed? I'm hoping this is a legit opportunity. Thank you advance for your assistance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Danita,

Could you please click on my name and send me a PM with more information about your other report? I’ll check that for you and assist you accordingly.

Thank you.

~ Bojan
Upwork

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Yeah... those are just scammers trying to steal money out of your bank account.

What's the best way to resolve this. I'm afraid I'm going to be out some major money because I researched the company. I feel like such an idiot and I was being thorough. I have all my documentation and chats from the person. The other one tried the same thing but I requested a physical check. I'll decline their offer. I definitely will be sure everything is done through Upworks. The trials of being a newbie.

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Danita,

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. I’ve checked and it looks like the job has already been taken down because it was in violation of Upwork TOS and action has been taken on the client account.