cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feeling uneasy and need an answer...

crupe_victoria
Victoria C Member Since: Jul 6, 2016
1 of 11

So, I am a newbie and got what I thought was an awesome message about being chosen as a freelancer for a company.  I was given a Google Hangout email to add to get more information from.  The email was **Edited for Community Guidelines**.  They are inviting me to work for them but not thru Upwork.  Red flag...

So I add them and talk to them.  There are numerous spelling errors...another red flag.

They tell me Id be working for **Edited for Community Guidelines**, I'd undergo a training period at $15/hour then earn $22/hour after that doing admin type work as well as accounting work and clerical stuff.  Sounds good there.  

Then they ask a bunch of questions that seem normal and I respond.  We get almost done, they offer the job and I am excited.  They then sweeten the pot with a free Apple laptop but I need to buy $495 worth of software that they will reimburse with my first pay check...RED FLAG!!

They also ask how I want to be paid and I tell them paypal as I am not gonna give out my personal bank info.  Then they ask for name, address, phone number, etc, which I give as i figured that they were confirming my resume information and it's easy enough to find that info anyway.

From here I decide to check out the company that wants me to work for them and the site I am directed to has the name I was given however, has NOTHING to do with what they want me hired for...RED FLAG!!  

My question is this:  Is this legit?  Has this person contacted anyone else like this?  Have I been totally scammed into thinking I was getting a legit work offer?  

I need help!

Thanks,

Victoria Crupe

suznee
Community Guru
Suzanne N Member Since: Aug 15, 2012
2 of 11

Scam report it and move on. Never ever pay for software or offer to be paid off of Upwork. It is a good way to lose you money and account here.

karandrakis