🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Filter Out Low paying Jobs
Page options
aberry89
Community Member

Filter Out Low paying Jobs

Hello, as a freelance illustrator I don't want to waste my time sifting through jobs that will only pay, $10, $20. Is there a way to filter out jobs that are extremely low paying? Or have a starting point price point and only show jobs at that, or above that payout? 

thanks! 
anne

11 REPLIES 11
wlyonsatl
Community Member

When you search for new jobs using "Find Work" you can choose ranges of hourly or fixed price project pricing under the "Job Type" menu item.

christopherbudde
Community Member

Hi Anne. I filter out overseas jobs. That helps eliminate the bottom feeders. I also go for hourly over fixed price jobs. I have noticed that hourly jobs convert to repeat clients at a higher rate. 

Changing gears, I will say I believe you to be one of the best illustrators I have seen on upwork. Your work jumps off the page with warmth and humor. Being a cat person, your depiction of cats is especially spot on. You should double your rate immediately!

Christopher B wrote:

Hi Anne. I filter out overseas jobs. That helps eliminate the bottom feeders. 

What a narrow-minded approach. There are plenty of clients in the rest of the world who are willing to pay for quality work; it's not like everybody outside the U.S. is broke and looking for a bargain. And you do realize that the U.S. is "overseas" to the rest of us who live on other continents, and not the centre of the universe? 

I have done a handful of good overseas jobs and hundreds of good US jobs. Narrow minded or business minded? If you are going to name call, at least get the name right.

Thanks, I'll stick with my first definition. But how did you get these "overseas" clients, if you're filtering them out?