🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Financial Professionals - Your thoughts on lo...
Page options
jasonkgreen73
Community Member

Financial Professionals - Your thoughts on low rates for sophisticated skills?

I am a corporate finance professional. I have a degree in finance and an MBA from a top 35 school. I have 20 years of experience and built my financial modeling and Excel skills to a very high level.

It surprises me to see jobs posted on Upwork that would utilize my skillset to its fullest yet only offer $25/hr. I could literally go flip burgers at In-n-Out for $20/hr. I've seen some posts offering $5-7/hr. 

As a financial professional, how do you approach these opportunities? Do you skip them? Do you apply with a market rate? Have you landed one of these roles at a market rate? Are those who post these roles truly looking to spend such low rates? Is it a matter of just not knowing the market? Does Upwork do anything to help educate the job poster on the market rates? How in the heck am I supposed to compete if people get these roles at such low rates?

4 REPLIES 4
m-j-boujaoude
Community Member

Hello Jason, 
I have a BA in business and an MBA

a BA in Multimedia and telecommunication 

and a BA in translation and I take work sometimes as low as 7$/hour

how can you prove your worth without proving your experience on upwork?

a client will pay you more after you have proved experience but don't expect a client to pay you more 

if you do not have a proven experience on Upwork 

have a great day 

Isn't that what a resume is for? Isn't that what reviews are for? I've worked too hard on my education, technical skills, and career to work for $7/hr. That's less than minimum wage. There is no guarantee that someone who hires me at $7/hr will pay a market rate of $100/hr or more in the future. They will likely think, "I got this guy at $7/hr, why should I pay more? If he wants more, I'll just go find someone else at $7/hr."