🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Getting my first client
Page options
70c661f6
Community Member

Getting my first client

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie and im wondering if its normal for a client to send a terms and conditions document outside of the upwork platform? Also the email I was sent states that I will undergo probationary period with a probationary bonus of $100 does this seem legit? I am not sure if im suppose to sign this document before signing a contract? Im so lost, any help would be appreciated. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
renata101
Community Member

Hi Denice,

I haven't heard that one before and my Spidey senses are definitely a'buzzing. It sounds like it might violate at least a few of the Upwork Terms of Service.

I think an Upwork moderator should be along shortly to respond to your question (someone with a green Upwork badge). And you can send them some screen shots of your communications with the client.  Don't post those here on the forum because it's not allowed. You can send a direct message to the moderator.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
renata101
Community Member

Hi Denice,

I haven't heard that one before and my Spidey senses are definitely a'buzzing. It sounds like it might violate at least a few of the Upwork Terms of Service.

I think an Upwork moderator should be along shortly to respond to your question (someone with a green Upwork badge). And you can send them some screen shots of your communications with the client.  Don't post those here on the forum because it's not allowed. You can send a direct message to the moderator.

Thank you so much! 

I don't know how long it will take for someone to respond. I did track down a mod who seemed to be active recently and sent her a DM.  The thing you mentioned that's a red flag for me is that the client is telling you that you'll receive a bonus payment rather than setting the contract up with milestones and putting the funds in escrow.