🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Graphic design scam
Page options
kastaberns
Community Member

Graphic design scam

Hello,

I recently filled out a proposal in upwork for a job for graphic design. I’m not a pro but intermediate, I should’ve known it was a scam.

I contacted the real company named “**Edited for community guidelines**“ and found out this has been going on for a while. Every time the company tells upwork , they take it down and a new one pops up. I understand the rules about staying on the platform, I know I could have avoided the terrible stab to the throat upon finding out my life wasn’t about to change for the better. Hope took hold and common sense took a knee. I will say I have street smarts and these scammers had their stuff together. They had all the applications for verification and contracts, and knew the real companies guidelines for working there.

I needed to find a way to tell other freelancers that this is a scam, and it doesn’t mean that as a freelancer, that your not good enough to do the job if it was real. Luckily, that little logical me in the background was continually smacking me in the back of the head with every step the scammer wanted me to take. I didn’t give them too vital information, I had to put a freeze on my credit just in case but no banking information. I did screenshot all the information and the fake checks along with their Skype id and everything else along with this terrible setup. Still I feel deflated that I let hope take the wheel and that a positive financial change isn’t on the near horizon.