cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Has anyone worked for **? Are they legit?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
11 of 40

@Goldie K wrote:
This certainly makes me feel like all Internet jobs are scams. I'm new to upworks and this was my first experience obviously a bad one.

Not All internet jobs are scams, but there are scams on the internet.  One has to realize that they are dealing with a complete stranger located who knows where in the world. The problem is that potential freelancers jump right into sites such as this without knowing anything because of the way freelancing is presented. They don't take the time to look around the site, read discussion board and most of all learn the rules and procedures of the site they are on. They think they can do right into working, get any job they apply for, make tons of money and work whenever they feel like it and all they have to do is create an account and a profile.

Because of that, scammers target newbies because newbies will not take the time to "learn the site" and learn the in's and outs of freelancing. I can't begin to count the number of newbies who've posted here AFTER the fact, concerning not only receiving a check, but cashing it, even sending part of the money somewhere else. They have bought software with it, gave out there personal , gave permission to use their amazon account and even accepted jobs to be a dropshipper for someone in another country.

Please take the time to read some posts here so you'll know what to look out for and to read Upwork's TOS.

I hope you didn't cash that check and I sure hope you didn't send part of that money to where ever.

Highlighted
Community Leader
Lindsey G Member Since: Jul 28, 2015
12 of 40