cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do taxes work for freelancers

Lydia R Member Since: Jul 6, 2017
1 of 14

Hello, 

I am new to this whole thing, just graduated college. So I was wondering how taxes for this work. I don’t have a company or anything, I am just working to get some extra cash on the side.

Does Upwork take out income tax? or is that something I have to do at the end of the tax season?

Also, do I need to fill out any forms to say I am a freelancer? The w9 asked for a business name so i just put my actual name.

Do I get a w2 from Upwork at the end of the year?

I am clueless to any of this. I hardly understand my own taxes from my day job. 

Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 14

if you make more than $20k they send you a 1099. You'll have to pay taxes on the income on tax day. There is a lot of info you can read online but no Upwork doesn't take any money out you're responsible for the taxes.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 14

You can try NOT paying the taxes owed on Upwork earnings, but I don't recommend doing that because you are likely to be caught and then owe interest and penalties to the IRS.

Lydia R Member Since: Jul 6, 2017
4 of 14

Thanks, How would you show it on your taxes if you do not have a 1099? do you just use bank statements?

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
5 of 14

Don't use bank statements. Use the reports you can generate from within the Upwork Reports menu. You can export complete records of income for the year, showing the fees you pay. That is all you need. If you don't have a 1099 you can file taxes using these reports.

For authoritative tax advice, talk to a tax professional or accountant. The only thing you can get here is non-authoritative advice which may or may not apply to your particular situation.

Steve L Member Since: Oct 17, 2018
6 of 14