🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I'm not a Tax Payer
Page options
a4f54ff1
Community Member

I'm not a Tax Payer

Hi,

I am a college student from Bangladesh and my age is 18. UpWork is asking for my tax info but I don't pay taxes because I am just a student. The current law here doesn't take any taxes from freelancing  I believe(correct me if I'm wrong). 

Please help. How am I supposed to withdraw my funds if I don't have a tax info? 

Thanks again for reading through.

J.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
759e32fa
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Juboraz,

Thank you for reaching out. We recommend referring to your county’s tax website or a tax consultant as we don't provide tax advice here.

The W-8BEN and W-8BEN-E are U.S. tax forms for non-U.S. Persons. We and the IRS use them to determine whether you live in the U.S. and what taxes, if any, we need to collect from your earnings on Upwork. You must have this form on file before you can withdraw earnings from Upwork.

Without these forms as proof that you are a non-U.S. Person, Upwork will be required to withhold 30% of your future earnings on Upwork and send that withholding tax to the IRS. As long as a new W-8BEN/W-8BEN-E form is filled out completely and validly, we are not required to withhold U.S. income tax.

To complete the W-8BEN or W-8BEN-8, you’ll need to complete three cards in the Tax Information section of your settings.

~ AJ
Upwork

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
759e32fa
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Juboraz,

Thank you for reaching out. We recommend referring to your county’s tax website or a tax consultant as we don't provide tax advice here.

The W-8BEN and W-8BEN-E are U.S. tax forms for non-U.S. Persons. We and the IRS use them to determine whether you live in the U.S. and what taxes, if any, we need to collect from your earnings on Upwork. You must have this form on file before you can withdraw earnings from Upwork.