cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is Upwork accepting new freelancers in graphic/web design and adwords?

benoitlussier
Ace Contributor
Benoit L Member Since: May 16, 2016
1 of 20

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the right place for this, but I can't find info to contact Upwork directly and I am new on Upwork, therefore any help is greatly appreciated.

I am an experienced Graphic designer and I have the certification for Google Adwords.

The first time I submitted my profile for review, I received an answer from a person telling me that there are grammatical errors in my profile. I re-checked everything, found 3 spelling mistakes and re-submitted my profile.

Since then, I added elements to my profile to raise the completion to 95%. However, every time I re-submit I get an automated answer seconds later telling me that Upwork "does not have opportunities for you based on your combination of skills and experience". However, if I browse the job opportunities, I find many jobs for which I am more than qualified.

Am I doing something wrong or if Upwork simply does not currently accept new graphic and web designers? I see a lot of profiles that have less skills than me, for example people who only do Adwords, for which I tested in the top 10%.

Is there anything that can be done? Perhaps I could do more tests to boost my profile. I know I have the skills, the opportunities are there and I believe it should be for the client to decide if they want to hire me or not, but for that I need to be given the opportunity to apply.

Thank you in advance for your help!

versailles
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
2 of 20

Benoit,

The platform is indeed crowded, they already have 10 million users they say. You seem to have a nice profile, however. I think that you should take this opportunity to polish it even more and resubmit it every now and then.

Meanwhile others may chime in with advice about how to make your profile even better.