ldemrys

My first job offer sounds like a scam

I'm brand new to this line of work, and when I got my first offer, I was naturately excited. As requested, I logged into Google Hangouts for an "interview". I wont post names or anything because after doing a little searching on this site, it seems there are some "guidelines" that I would need to follow, and right now I don't really know what they are.

Aside from providing my contact info, I have not taken any other action.

The "interviewer" provided a list of software that the company is supposed to send me a check to buy. When I started searching for the software titles, I started seeing scam warnings. A little more searching, and I feel positive this is a scam...

My question is, what do I do now.?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
vladag
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Stuart,

Please follow the advice other users already shared and report this job to Customer Support with screenshots of your communication on Hangouts.

To help you work safely on Upwork, please have a look at tips and warning signs shared in this thread and our Trust & Safety FAQ.

Seeing you're a new user, I strongly advise you to read the Help articles from the Getting Started as a Freelancer section and our Freelancer Guide. Please also check our educational videos and best practice advice shared by other users:

Freelancer Tutorial Videos

Want to get that first job? Then check this out...

Proposal Workshop Video

Here are the Community Guidelines you mentioned.

Untitled

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
jutta_beinker

report the job and block the perosn in hangouts. change your phone number if given...RUN!

" The bond with a true dog is as lasting as the ties of this earth will ever be "

It's definitely a scam.  You can flag and report the job to customer service.  It's also helpful to provide screenshots of your conversation in Hangouts.