cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible Non-pay Scams by oDesk employers: What is your experience?

Highlighted
Randall S Member Since: Oct 10, 2010
1 of 7
I've been an oDesk contractor for nearly 4 years. I've had no problems with fixed contract payment until this year. Granted, oDesk doesn't guarantee fixed contracts, but in the past I've found that if you give someone good service they not only pay, but they also give a bonus. So this is a new problem to me.

Aftering experiencing a couple of non-paying clients, I've reflected on the experience, and I feel that there is enough data to suggest there may be a trend of oDesk scams. They seem to come in 2 forms:

Scam Type #1: I do the work, complete it, and send it to the client. The client responds rudely and never again. After some point, even after contacting oDesk support, I end up closing the contract unpaid because I want the client out of my life.

Scam Type #2: This is a more devious form of non-paying clients. It's a sort of bait and switch. Client posts a job for one type of work, but asks me to do something totally different. Generally, not a big problem as I see it. Then the client asks for my personal email and only corresponds outside of oDEsk. (It's not against odesk rules to do this, but I see the problem with it now: oDesk has no record of our work correspondence. In any event, after I complete the work, the client complains and complains about a problem that does not exist and then says he is going to close the contract. In the end, I end up closing it unpaid because he does not respond and I want him out of my life.

To protect myself, I do the following:

1. ask for a down payment to filter out the true con artists. In the past, I never had to do this. My clients sometimes became friends and they rehired me so it was never a problem.