🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Unsure if Job Opportunity is Legitimate
Page options
78b61c0c
Community Member

Unsure if Job Opportunity is Legitimate

Hello! I have a question about a job I was contacted for, as it doesn't seem legitimate. 

I responded to a job ad for a one-time task, and less than 24 hours later someone responded to me asking where I was located and requesting an email address to send over additional information on a job that they had available in my area. This was not for the job I applied for. I provided my email and the job description asked for my address so they could send me a postcard to verify that I was in the company's "service area", as it was a "delivery business". They stated that the job would be compiling a Google Directory and that I would be paid via Upwork in two separate payments. I found it strange that they didn't provide the name of the business, and that they asked for my personal address. I am new to Upwork so I'm assuming I'm easy prey for scams. 

Has anyone experienced anything similar, or is there a chance this is actually legitimate? Any feedback would be appreciated. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Kara E wrote:

Hello! I have a question about a job I was contacted for, as it doesn't seem legitimate. 

It's a scam or an attempt to cheat Google local searches, and you violated Upwork Terms of Service by giving them your Email address. 

**ALL** communication before a contract is established can only happen on Upwork.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
petra_r
Community Member

Kara E wrote:

It's a scam or an attempt to cheat Google local searches, and you violated Upwork Terms of Service by giving them your Email address. 

**ALL** communication before a contract is established can only happen on Upwork.

78b61c0c
Community Member

Thank you for letting me know. I will disregard the email in that case. 

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Kara,