cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upwork should be vetting Clients to remove the scammers

Community Leader
Russell T Member Since: Jul 25, 2015
1 of 15

As a successful Freelancer on Upwork here is just one of my recommendations to improve the platform. 

We as Freelancers are closely scrutinized by Upwork and for good reason. If you are trying to attract the best clients you want some kind of system in place that prevents fraudulent people posing as a legitimate Freelancer.  So as a Freelancer I should also expect the same vetting for my clients especially when I pay a 10% fee for each successful project that is completed. Are we receiving that? I would have to say clearly we are not. We see posts about scam after scam without a clear direction on how to handle or solve the root cause of the problem.

Below is just my recommendation but feel free to add to the list. 

1.) Every job posting should cost something to the client. I say this because not only will it reduce fraudulent posts but creates a vested intrest with the client to proceed with a project within Upworks platform.  Even a small sum of $3(non-refundable) per job post would eliminate many of the issues we see on a daily basis. It would also validate good clients and red flag clients with invalid payment methods prior to a project start. 

Some wise person once told me that there is no respect or value in Free. It couldn't be a more true statement. Now we just need Upwork to believe that it has value.  I would love to hear others ideas on improving the platform.

Community Guru
Mahesh A Member Since: Sep 16, 2015
2 of 15

It’s a very good idea Russell, But I don't think client whose budget is 5$ will be happy to pay 3$ posting fee, Although if they do it will be great

Community Leader
3 of 15