🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » What is the fastest way to get paid?
Page options
Community Member

What is the fastest way to get paid?

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork and my first (and only client so far) is someone I had an existing relationship with outside of Upwork. They told me about Upwork and we decided to use this platform as a way to help me in my new freelancing career. It's been an average experience so far, and I'm convinced it has mostly to do with my understanding of how to use Upwork as the tool it was created for (although I'm not a fan of some of the fees). I'm still learning and exploring Upwork, but is there any way to receive funds faster? I opted for the weekly automatic payout, direct to my bank account option, but in total it takes almost half a month (around 15ish days) to receive payment. I'm averaging around 6-10 hours a week and would love to be able to get paid faster; am I doing something wrong, is there a better option to access my funds quicker, or is this what I can expect going forward?

Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Phyllis G wrote:

You can withdraw funds whenever they are available, you don't have to wait for the weekly payment. 

But hourly contracts are paid out weekly on Wednesday anyway so it makes no difference.

Dymonique, fixed-rate contracts, once a milestone is approved, get the money in your pocket more quickly, but can take even longer if a client drags their feet.

Weekly works fine once you get into a rhythm. You get a chunk of money every week, it doesn't really matter if it's this week's or last week's...

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

You can withdraw funds whenever they are available, you don't have to wait for the weekly payment. 

Phyllis G wrote:

But hourly contracts are paid out weekly on Wednesday anyway so it makes no difference.