🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Will Upwork implement CAPTCHA before submitti...
Page options
e1281dd0
Community Member

Will Upwork implement CAPTCHA before submitting a proposal?

400 Connects Bidding Auction.400 Connects Bidding Auction.

I've been actively using the platform both as a freelancer and a client, and I agree with those who express frustration about the current challenges in getting jobs on the plataform.

Interested in a quick experiment? Create a client's account, set up a job opening with attractive budget and a common subject. In less than a minute, you'll receive 5 to 9 proposals with 50 connects each. It's funny how it's consistently 50 connections, there's neve a 51 or more.

For those unfamiliar with the platform, Upwork doesn't apply a limit for bids. I've seen some jobs getting 4 boosted proposals using 400 connects each. Ouch!

Now, I'm bringing attention to this matter in the hope that it gains traction. As a Software Developer, I comprehend the process of integrating new features into a website from a large company like Upwork. It's not a straightforward process, and I acknowledge that the developers aren't the ones to blame. But from my perspective, implementing a CAPTCHA system to confirm that the freelancer is human at the moment of submitting a proposal could be a useful practice to filter out these bot-generated proposals. It's not a complex system to implement, and when applied correctly, it proves challenging for bots to bypass. In terms of user interactions, it doesn't create a barrier discouraging people from applying for job openings.

While additional features would certainly be beneficial, introducing this one could effectively significantly reduce bot activity on the platform, in my point of view. (Unless Upwork get benefits from these bots that spend money to buy connections and automate the applying process, do I see a consiparcy being created here? Maybe I shouldn't talk to much about this subject...) 🤐