🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Work Diary Question
Page options
joneskellie62
Community Member

Work Diary Question

I am new to Upwork and I have finally found a client I would like to work with. But, I am having trouble understanding how the work diary works. Would I be able to use the Upwork Work DIary if I am using a softphone to make calls using Vimeo? I don't want to manually log my hours and would like some information on how to set that up, if compatible? Thanks for all your help! 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Kellie:

You may use the Upwork "time-tracker" application to automatically log time to your work diary.

You may use this tool from Mac OS X, Windows, or Linux computers.

You do NOT need to use manually-logged time as long as you are using one of those operating systems and have the time-tracker installed and running.

Keep in mind that the time-tracker application is NOT a "time clock." It requires adequate mouse/keyboard activity in order to register time.

Many Upwork freelancers (including myself, earlier today) successfully use the Upwork time-tracker application to log time to the work diary while doing phone calls and videoconferencing calls. (Which may entail interacting with the screen in some way, or typing notes, or clicking the mouse enough during a call...)

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
prestonhunter
Community Member

Kellie:

You may use the Upwork "time-tracker" application to automatically log time to your work diary.

You may use this tool from Mac OS X, Windows, or Linux computers.

You do NOT need to use manually-logged time as long as you are using one of those operating systems and have the time-tracker installed and running.

Keep in mind that the time-tracker application is NOT a "time clock." It requires adequate mouse/keyboard activity in order to register time.