🐈
» Forums » Profile Feedback » Need help with feedback of my profile
Page options
e5151893
Community Member

Need help with feedback of my profile

Hi everyone,

I am a travel agent expert with 10 years plus experience in the travel industry as well as being experienced in managing teams in the luxury travel industry with all the systems the industry has (GDS, flight fares etc.). I am also skilled in microsoft office as well as experienced in customer care and handling feedbacks. Furthermore I am (Swiss) German native speaking and fluent in English. 

I want to do some freelance work on the side in the evenings or ideally at the weekends (would love to plan it on my own time as I have a full time job) but I didn't land any job yet and don't want to waste too many kudos. Maybe I have have some fundamentels wrong on my profile which I am not aware of.

Can you please review my profile and give me some tips on how to improve it so that I can land my first job?

Thank you very much in advance

2 REPLIES 2
celgins
Community Member

Johannes,

One of the most important things to understand about an Upwork profile is its focus. A profile should offer a specfic service (or related services) and help clients understand the benefit in hiring the freelancer to provide those services. Clients come to Upwork with specific needs and they look for freelancers who can meet those needs and get results.

If your goal is to provide translation services, your travel agency experience should be secondary, unless your travel agency work involved specific translation services. Otherwise, your profile should focus on your English/German translation experience, the English/German translation services you provide, and why clients should hire you to provide English/German translation services.

Here are my suggestions:

1) Revise your title to focus on translation services by removing all other words: English/German Translator.