🐈
» Forums » Support » Instyle scam?
Page options
d1eebd82
Community Member

Instyle scam?

I'm new to up work. I simply applied to a proofreading job. I didn't have a clue who for. Apparently the one I applied for is instyle magazine. At first I was excited. Now I'm unsure and skeptical. After just Googling instyle jobs, to see what else they were looking for remotely, I quickly saw an article about the scam. The way others have been scammed is a little different than this time. No one else mentioned that they were sending a check for the equipment they were going to receive. Someone sent an invoice for the equipment to my email. Then I got check sent via Skype on a document format. They asked me to print it out and deposit it on my mobile banking app. I haven't done this. Another way this was a little different, the job posting hasn't disappeared yet. Others have said it disappeared immediately. Is this a new tactic they are using?  Please get the scammers off of here. there are people out here willing to work but we keep getting scammed.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

5 REPLIES 5
d1eebd82
Community Member

Job no longer available 

anna_babicheva
Community Member

Communication outside of Upwork is a serious violation of TOS. Don't do it next time. Get familiar with community posts on scams and try avoiding them. 

Never pay anything to a client to do your job. 

ArjayM

Hi Alicia,

I'm sorry to learn about this disappointing experience. Anna's correct! Sharing contact information before a contract has started is against Upwork's Terms of Service and that all communications before the contract starting must take place on Upwork.