🐈
» Forums » Clients » A large order of 360,000 US dollars.
Page options
Community Member

A large order of 360,000 US dollars.

Hey everyone,

I am new to Upwork and I've found a freelancer that I like for a very complex coding project. His demand is $360K. This is a VERY large amount of money and I wanted to know how I could keep myself safe in this deal as well as wanted to know how such a large payment could be made on Upwork.

Thank you so much for your help. 

7 REPLIES 7
yofazza
Community Member

You should:

• Break it into tiny milestones, like, "$100 for the completion of wireframe".
  • Use a project manager unless you know how to be one.
  • Read a few pages in this forum to familiarize yourself with the freelancers' behavior here, and also learn about how helpful Upwork can be  in case there are problems.

Yep. Via separate milestones or separate projects.

Or hourly where you can watch progress and stop project if something wrong. Only week must be paid here, no need to pay whole 360k at once.

6bfcdaf8
Community Member

Something smells fishy here... If you are a freelancer thinking "oh maybe i should reach out to this person in private and help them"... DON'T

And for the OP, no software project requires 360K upfront. Spend it in very small chunks and review the output. Otherwise your project will fail, you'll lose all your money.

759e32fa

Hi Ahmad,

Thanks for reaching out. I checked and it looks like you're trying to order a Project Catalog. In Project Catalogs, freelancers have a preset process and time of delivery. If you want more control over the project, you can go with Radia's suggestion.

You can create a job post, invite the freelancer to apply for the job and send them an offer if you've already decided they're the freelancer you want to work with.