🐈
» Forums » Clients » Mislead by "Architect" am I protected?
Page options
fdf5c827
Community Member

Mislead by "Architect" am I protected?

Hi everyone, I am new to UpWork and getting increasingly frustrated. I recently signed up to hire an architect and engineer on here to do drawings and MEP work for a new restaurant buildout of mine for a new construction lease I signed. I want to be as up front as possible, this is an all new startup and I have no experience with going into business so unfortunately a lot is trial and error so far. I was up front about my ignorance and naivity to both the Engineer and Architect, I even arranged a conference call with them before offering a contract so I could just make sure what details were needed for my buildout was understood and I wasn't missing anything that I need for a FL commercial space. This architect who shows a Masters in Architecture on their profile, as well as many open contracts and assured me he has experience in FL for commercial AND specifically restaurants but could not send those works due to non-disclosure. Again, my naivity if that is not an industry standard. Anyways, I paid half of the job already when he produced the first couple drawings but had many errors and typos that needed correcting which furthered this process. He did tell my engineer in the beginning that he was not FL licensed and was awaiting it, but was working under a licensed architect and lead us on to believe that architect would seal the plans, over a month later and his "complete" plans are useless since he can't seal them. I do NOT wish to pay him the remainder and I feel extremely mislead given how honest I was about my ignorance to the overall process. Being unfamiliar with this platform, I trusted UpWork freelancers were vetted to some degree or verified, but it appears thats not the case. Makes me terrified to ever use a freelance platform again. Does UpWork protect any of its clients with this or is it a free for all on here w