🐈
» Forums » Clients » Unresponsive Freelancer & Unfinished Project
Page options
f5eea6ab
Community Member

Unresponsive Freelancer & Unfinished Project

I hired someone on here but I haven't heard from the developer in over a week. I called him, left messages, but no response. I already paid the developer for one milestone. However, the developer has missed 2 milestones and haven't contacted me. I would like my money back and to cancel contract so I can move on to another developer to complete my project.What can I do?

14 REPLIES 14
mtngigi
Community Member

Pursue D wrote:

I hired someone on here but I haven't heard from the developer in over a week. I called him, left messages, but no response. I already paid the developer for one milestone. However, the developer has missed 2 milestones and haven't contacted me. I would like my money back and to cancel contract so I can move on to another developer to complete my project.What can I do?

I'm a freelancer so I'm not entirely sure how things work from the client's end, but perhaps this will help you out: https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211062088-Request-a-Refund

I've also flagged your post to get a mod's attention - hopefully one will be along soon.

prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "What can I do?"

You can do whatever you want to do.

Not all client/freelancer collaborations are successful.

There is a statistically predictable failure rate for every job niche and pay level.

You may hire freelancers who start and finish a project within an hour or two.

You may hire freelances for whom you allow 3 or 4 months, or longer, to complete a task.

It is up to you.

If you have hired a freelancer whose availability or other aspects of their work no longer meet your requirements, then feel free to close the contract and continue working only with the members of your team who provide you with the most value.