🐈
» Community » Community Blog » How A New Freelancer Addresses Motivation Whe...
Page options
May 29, 2023
How A New Freelancer Addresses Motivation When Starting Out

Meet Sarah!

I am a content writer with an educational qualification in marketing and business, as a teenager I loved reading articles on various topics including science, history, culture and travel, in addition to that I am a fan of thriller and horror novels as well as non-fiction books, my passion for reading got me into writing, I have written two short stories for Reedsy.

As a freelancer who is new to the field of freelancing, I have struggled with staying motivated, at times I have felt I may not get work or I won't be able to make a stable income from freelancing, whenever my motivation levels started to go down, I realised it affects my creativity, as a content writer, creativity and out of box thinking is very important to come up with unique content.

Stay focused, remember why you started.

Thats when I realised how important it is to keep yourself motivated and to have a never give up attitude, I realised the power of positive thinking and how negativity dimnishes our productivity, whenever faced with a desire to quit, I try to focus on why I decided to freelance and what all I love about content writing, it helps me to feel more confident about my skills.

You might be new to Upwork or been here since a few years, you might be worried as a new freelancer that you aren't getting any work or as someone experienced in freelancing you are worried that you are not getting paid well, every freelancer whether new to the field or a pro has challenges and worries that can make it hard for them to feel motivated to continue freelancing.

Weigh your pros and cons, whether new or an expert, always do what's best for you.