🐈
» Community » Community Blog » Career CloseUp: SEO Product Manager
Page options
May 26, 2023
Career CloseUp: SEO Product Manager

Meet the person behind the role. 

image (3).png

My name is Michael McAfee and I’m a product manager on Upwork’s SEO team. I’ve only been at Upwork for a few weeks so far, but I’ve already been impressed by everyone’s commitment to the mission of creating economic opportunities so people can better their lives. This is a truly global company and the impact that we can help create is huge. 

Take us on a journey. 

My first job was as a file clerk at a non-profit housing organization across the street from my high school in Houston, Texas. I organized papers, handed out mail and listened to a lot of music on my second-generation iPod. When I went to college at the University of Texas in Austin, I immediately volunteered as a DJ at KVRX-FM, the student-run radio station. I’d grown up listening to Rice Radio in Houston and thought that there was nothing cooler than getting to play new, obscure music on the radio every week. Aside from volunteering as a DJ, I joined the station staff as a programming director in my sophomore year and eventually became the station manager in my senior year. I learned a lot about managing people, staying true to a mission (“None of the Hits, All of the Time”) and running an organization with over 100 volunteers. I was honored to be one of many station managers in KVRX’s history and still think fondly of my time there. I also worked as a barista at UT’s Starbucks in the student union for a few years and gained invaluable experience while making lifelong friends. There is no professional bond among employees stronger than the one forged day-in, day-out of busy food service.