cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canadian freelancer in the Carribean.

Community Guru
Mariska P Member Since: Apr 27, 2015
1 of 14

I am a freelancer with not a lot of eduction in all things computer, but I have alot of heart and the desire to learn. I'm very good at messaging and also talking on the phone which I did at a call centre and also as a subcontractor working from home. I understand that I'm probably not going to be in high demand because of my lack of skills, so I apply for entry level positions that don't require alot of education with things like microsoft office etc.  Thing is, even something I KNOW i'd be qualified for I'm not getting. That could be because someone else has a feedback score, or more hours, sure. What I'm kind of thinking is it's because I'm Canadian and people offering work don't think I'll work for the Upwork minimum wage. I will actually and I have. Right now there is no work available on my contract so I had been looking for a couple of weeks for something to fill in my time. Another reason is maybe that my contract was paused by Upwork so people might think I'm still working? Am I being paranoid? Possibly, but how am I going to get more hours on here if people won't give me a chance? It's like how it is in the real world when you don't have a lot of experience! lol. If someone could tell me if I'm just being overly sensitive or I might have a point, that would be great. 

**thanks SO much for all the valuable advice, you all are amazing! **

**one more thing... i  don't like this messaging system much it hurts my eyes. lol** 

Community Manager
Lena E Community Manager Member Since: Apr 7, 2015
2 of 14

Mariska,