🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client threatening for dispute when he is at ...
Page options
hrishiannu86
Community Member

Client threatening for dispute when he is at fault

Hi members,

I am a 3D designer and have great reviews from my client and have worked on many jobs on Upwork,

recently I am facing an issue client, he discussed with me to do a job and asked me how much time it may take, the work he discribed earlier was small so I told him it may take 10 hours, it was an hourly contract so I started to work on it, the client made 10  hour contract, once the hours was finished I informed him and shown him the picture of my progress, he threaten me that this was not discussed earlier and that I wasted his time, I told him you shown just a picture of a place and asked me to do 3d design and after starting the work only I can understan the complexity and it took time and now you are asking me even to do additional work on this, so He is not threating me to put a dispute, as a freelancer I feel we are quite vunerable because of this tactics of clients, where they trick us to start the job and then ask to work more on it and then threanten us, I want to understand my right in this and how I can raise an issue about to client to Upwork,

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2
wlyonsatl
Community Member

If you did the work and used TimeTracker properly to track your work time, the client has no standing to file a dispute.

Scope creep is apparently a big problem for many freelancers. Just say no to more work without more pay. This is much easier to do with an hourly contract than with a fixed price contract.

Good luck!