🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client want to have my email id or wants me t...
Page options
amirzulfiqarpro
Community Member

Client want to have my email id or wants me to register on calendly before contract, is it Allowed

Hi, 

I am new to Upwork (Only done one job)

When we apply on Job,  some clients want to have an email id for zoom meetings or want me to register on calendly with email so that they schedule their meetings.

To my knowledge, it's not Allowed but in my last meeting with a new client, I have conveyed the same that it's not allowed and we can have a built-in zoom meeting, But he said he is done it many times on Upwork and he is interviewing many freelancers and has completed jobs before.

I have confused, Please describe the allowed methods of communication before the contract? 

Any help appreciated 

Thanks and Regards
Amir Zulfiqar

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Why?

I don't know.

But I think that not all freelancers and not all clients are equally familiar with Upwork rules and policies.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Upwork has a meeting scheduling feature built into the Upwork Messages tool.

Upwork prohibits freelancers from providing an email address to a client for the purpose of communication or scheduling.

It sounds to me like the client you are dealing with is genuine client and an honorable person. The client may well be accustomed to doing things a certain way... in a way which genuinely was allowed until a relatively recent policy change.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply,  But why is the client is saying that he is interviewing many freelancers in this way, I have politely refused and also conveyed that it's not allowed but he didn't continue with me and his Last reply is what I mentioned that he is interviewing with many freelancers this way?

Why?

I don't know.

But I think that not all freelancers and not all clients are equally familiar with Upwork rules and policies.

Amir Z wrote:

Hi,