🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client won't accept changes, took down job po...
Page options
e2b0c091
Community Member

Client won't accept changes, took down job posting, and won't pay me

About  a month ago I submitted a proposal to a job posting. Within minutes I began speaking with the job poster. I am new to freelancing and this ended up being my first client. 

She was quite frantic and her messages seemed chaotic, but I was assuming it was due to a time crunch so I just rolled with it. Originally it was a $100 fixed price project. I spoke with her via upwork's video calls (well mainly she spoke, would ask a question, then would speak over me as I would attempt answering her question) and explained the nuances of what she was looking for in her project. She agreed to hire me as an ML expert to create few ML models for her paper. A long story short, she continually changed the scope and expectations of the job almost daily until I put my foot down. We agreed to change the job to be billed at an hourly rate. I updated the proposal and asked her to accept the changes. 
She did not, and then she inevitably changed the expectations once again.