🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Condescending feedback. Thoughts?
Page options
aliharvey
Community Member

Condescending feedback. Thoughts?

EDIT: Edited for conciseness to avoid TL;DR issues.

-------------------------

A new client hired me on a temporary basis to do a trial project for them. Their feedback left me feeling a little sore. 

Some of the feedback includes things like:

"your literary skills are very high, but your salesmanship skills to be quite low". 

In general, snotty feedback is what it is. I just deal with it.  So, up to this point, I was prepared to fix it up and move forward.

But then they did this:

"We would also like you to check out our copywriting course on your own time. We will provide free access to it."

So this is where I got offended. Is that valid? I've been doing this for over 10 years. I've had clients not like my style, and that's totally fine—but I've never had one tell me to take a class. 

What should I do about this? What would you do? I'm trying to decide whether I should just suck it up and continue with this well-paying project or professionally close things out. 

------------------------------

TL:DR: New client told me (10+ yrs experience) to take a copywriting class. Trying to decide if it's worth continuing this relationship. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
r-milind
Community Member

My suggestion:

Take action at the right time. You have realized that this client might not be a good client in the long run.. It is always good to terminate the contract now before it is too late. I see that you have many good reviews on your recent projects. I am sure you will get good long-term clients in near future.. 

Cheers

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
r-milind
Community Member

My suggestion: